Entries for the 2024 York Design awards are now open!

 The Awards are free to enter due to the support of our kind sponsors.  The awards celebrate a wide range of properties including single and multiple dwelling residential developments, community and commercial buildings, and open space/public realm/landscape.

To learn more about how to enter or to submit your application, please click here

If you would like to keep up to date about the York Design Awards, please sign up to our e-newsletter

< Back to News

Best of York’s architecture honoured

A unique contemporary new house, several innovative building refurbishments and sensitive new build projects took the top honours last night at the 2015 York Design Awards as the best of the city’s architecture once again took centre stage.

The 2015 award winners were announced at the annual presentation evening held this year at the National Science Learning Centre (NSLC) which was attended by more than 200 people.

Taking two awards – winning in the Residential Small and picking up the Lord Mayor’s Award – was the Garden House at The Purey Cust, a contemporary new house built in an architecturally sensitive location next to York Minster. Other winners included the new phase one development of York Racecourse, which features a new weigh-in building, pre-parade ring and saddling boxes, a collection of new houses in Bishopthorpe and a private home in Acomb where the owners have excelled in their ambitions architecturally.

The full list of winners is:

•  York Racecourse Phase One
•  City of York Archive Pod

•  St Everilda’s Church Extension

•  Piccadilly Lofts – for its main stair (the judges’ special Award for “design detail and craftsmanship”).
•  Four houses at the Chase, Bishopthorpe

•  7 Croft Way, Acomb
•  The Garden House at the Purey Cust

•  The Old Probate Office
•  Millthorpe School

•  The Garden House at the Purey Cust

•  St. Peter’s School Entrance & Reception

Chair of the York Design Awards committee Janet Hopton said: “Congratulations to all our 2015 award winners. We were delighted with the quality of the entries once again this year, which presented our judging panel with a tough challenge deciding which projects should take the honours.

“I’d like to thank our sponsors, without whom the York Design Awards simply wouldn’t be able to run in the way that they do, the National Science Learning Centre for providing us with a superb venue to hold our presentation evening, and most importantly the people and organisations who entered.”

Celebrating its tenth anniversary next year, the York Design Awards launches every January with entries submitted between January and April. The awards are organised by a committee of volunteers and all funding is provided through sponsorship, including from main sponsor Hiscox.

Latest from Twitter