Entries for the 2024 York Design awards are now open!

 The Awards are free to enter due to the support of our kind sponsors.  The awards celebrate a wide range of properties including single and multiple dwelling residential developments, community and commercial buildings, and open space/public realm/landscape.

To learn more about how to enter or to submit your application, please click here

If you would like to keep up to date about the York Design Awards, please sign up to our e-newsletter

< Back to News

Best of York’s Architecture hounoured at 2017 York Design Awards

YDA-122 980 pix

Seven buildings and property developments in York took top honours last night at the 2017 York Design Awards as the best of the city’s architecture once again took centre stage.

The 2017 award winners were announced at the annual presentation evening held this year at York Racecourse, itself a York Design Award winner in 2015.

Winning projects ranged from a small contemporary home extension to several of the city’s most high-profile conservation projects and new housing developments.

New homes by David Wilson Homes at The Chocolate Works (phase 1) was the big winner on the night, picking up an award in the Large Residential category plus the special Lord Mayor’s Award. Joseph Rowntree Housing Trust’s Derwenthorpe development (phase 2) of 123 homes also received an award in the Large Residential category.

The 270-year-old York Theatre Royal also took two awards. It triumphed in Non-Residential (large) category after its £6 million redevelopment, which was designed by De Matos Ryan architects in London and York-based W R Dunn & Co.  York Theatre Royal also won The Press People’s Award, the only award voted for by the general public and readers of the York Press.  The newspaper’s Chief Features Editor Steve Lewis presented this award.

City of York Council’s Little Knavesmire Sports Pavilion was the second project to win an award in the Non-Residential (large) category.

A variety of smaller projects were also recognised. In the Non-Residential (small) category the Rattle Owl received an award. Additionally, two unusual developments particularly impressed the judges – awards were given to Bishopsbarn in the Conservation category and Alpha Cottage in the Small Residential category.

Chair of the York Design Awards, Janet Hopton, said: “Congratulations to all our 2017 award winners. We were delighted with the quality of the entries once again this year, which presented our judging panel with a tough challenge deciding which projects should take the honours.

“I’d like to thank our sponsors, without whom the York Design Awards simply wouldn’t be able to run in the way that they do, York Racecourse for providing us with a superb venue to hold our presentation evening, and most importantly the people and organisations who entered.”

Head judge and architect Julian Bicknell also presented a special award to York Civic Trust in recognition of their contribution over recent years to the city’s monuments and public places; in particular to the four schemes submitted this year in the related categories:

– Rig Monument
– Gates to former playing fields, Archbishop Holgate’s School

– John Snow Memorial
– All Saints Pavement Churchyard scheme

The York Design Awards programme operates with the generous support of a number of sponsors who have a strong association with the city. Hiscox is once again the main sponsor, with additional high profile sponsors including Arup, O’Neill Associates, York Conservation Trust, Shepherd Group, York Civic Trust, City of York Council, York Guild of Building, George F White, Fulprint, Ravage Productions, Virgin Trains East Coast, The Partners Group, United by Design, York Racecourse, The Grand Hotel & Spa, Saville AV, York Explore, and York Science Park.

Latest from Twitter