Entries for the 2024 York Design awards are now open!

 The Awards are free to enter due to the support of our kind sponsors.  The awards celebrate a wide range of properties including single and multiple dwelling residential developments, community and commercial buildings, and open space/public realm/landscape.

To learn more about how to enter or to submit your application, please click here

If you would like to keep up to date about the York Design Awards, please sign up to our e-newsletter

< Back to News

Esteemed Architect Joins York Design Awards As New Judge

18th March 2016

The York Design Awards has appointed one of the UK’s top female architects to join its panel of judges to review entries into the 2016 awards.
Nicky Rutt, who was a finalist in the prestigious AJ Woman Architect of the Year Awards two years ago, is an architect in one of the country’s leading practices, Hawkins\Brown. She is currently working on a £100m project called Here East which is transforming the former London 2012 Olympics’ media centre into a 1.2 million square foot ‘digital campus’ for start-ups, students and leading tech businesses.
Nicky joins three others distinguished judges on the York Design Awards panel; Julian Bicknell – who also chairs the judging panel – David Heath and Geoff Rich. The four judges are all renowned nationally and internationally for their specialisms in their respective architectural and conservation fields. They will be judging the 2016 entries very soon, with the 25th March entry deadline looming.
As a Trustee of the Twentieth Century Society, which helps to safeguard the heritage of architecture and design in Britain from 1914 onwards, Nicky’s understanding of and passion for modern architecture has enhanced the design of the various commercial and civic refurbishment projects that she is currently heading up.
Nicky says: “I am delighted to have been invited to join such a distinguished panel to judge the York Design Awards in its tenth year. The quality of the entries from previous years is superb and I very much look forward to visiting and helping to select the winners for 2016.”
Chair of the York Design Awards, Janet Hopton, adds: “It’s a privilege to have Nicky on board as our new judge in time for the 2016 entries. Her background and interests will add an interesting dimension to the judging process, which is vital in order to consider the enormous variety of entries that the awards attract every year.”
Now in its tenth year, the York Design Awards are open to projects large and small and aim to celebrate and encourage good design in the city. The 2016 awards are open for entries until 25th March, offering developers, builders and homeowners the opportunity to win one of five main categories – commercial, community, residential, conservation and/or renovation and open space.

Latest from Twitter