Winners of the 2022 York Design Awards will be announced at an awards ceremony on Monday 4th July. Please save the date and join our mailing list to receive an invitation to this free event.


There will be a week-long exhibition of the award entries at York Explore library from 11 to 18 June. Visit the free exhibition and cast your vote for The Press People’s Choice Award and the Young People’s Award (under 18s only).


The Awards cover a wide range of categories including large and small residential development, commercial and public buildings, conservation and restoration projects and open spaces and are open to all projects completed in the last five years.
You can also join the York Design Awards Walking Trails on Friday 17 June, 6pm to 8pm and Saturday 18 June, 10am to 12 noon, as part of the York Festival of Ideas. Visit York Design Award-winning buildings from the first 13 years of the scheme. The free walking trails around the city centre reveal some stunning hidden gems developed and built by those aspiring to the highest quality of design. Tickets are available from 29th April at York Festival of Ideas, York Festival of Ideas.


If you would like to keep up to date about the York Design Awards, please sign up to our e-newsletter


< Back to News

Search is on for York’s best architecture

Stephen Witherford News page

The 13th annual York Design Awards, which recognise the city’s best buildings, will launch at an event attended by more than 150 professionals from the property, architecture, building and development sectors on Wednesday 30th January

Taking place at Temple Hall, York St John University, the launch event’s keynote speaker is Stephen Witherford from Witherford Watson Mann Architects, London. Stephen has led projects for Amnesty International UK’s headquarters, the Bankside Urban Forest, Arts Council England’s North West offices in Manchester, Olympic Legacy Masterplan, Astley Castle, a contemporary almshouse in London, Clare College, Cambridge and The Courtauld Institute of Art. The practice was awarded the 2013 RIBA Stirling Prize for the construction of a contemporary house within the medieval ruins of Astley Castle.

Rebecca Thompson is the newly appointed Chair of the York Design Awards committee, taking over from Janet Hopton MBE who founded the awards in 2006. She says: “We’re delighted to welcome Stephen Witherford as our keynote speaker, who I’m sure will inspire the city’s property professionals to continue to enhance the city’s residential and commercial buildings as well as public and open spaces.  The theme of his speech is re-imagining the fragmented city, which is particularly relevant in York where the York Central development is now progressing and will see a fragmented space come together under a new design. We hope to see as many projects as possible being entered into the awards which are independently judged by some of the UK’s top architects.”

The awards programme operates with the generous support of a number of sponsors who have a strong association with the city including Hiscox, Bedern Hall Foundation, CG Building and Restoration, City of York Council, Crombie Wilkinson, Duncan Lomax Photography, Fulprint, Leeds Environmental Design Associates (LEDA), LNER, MLC, O’Neill Associates, Savills, Shepherd Group, The Grand Hotel, The Partners Group, The Press, United By Design, University of York, York Civic Trust, York Conservation Trust, York Explore, York Guild of Building, York St John University.

Application forms and details of how to enter the prestigious awards, which are open to builders, architects, developers and building owners, will be available at Closing date for entries is 22nd March.

Winners will be announced and presented with their awards at the presentation evening which takes place on Monday 24 June at the University of York’s Ron Cooke Hub.

Book your place for the launch event on 30th January here

or email 

Latest from Twitter