Entries for the 2024 York Design awards are now open!

 The Awards are free to enter due to the support of our kind sponsors.  The awards celebrate a wide range of properties including single and multiple dwelling residential developments, community and commercial buildings, and open space/public realm/landscape.

To learn more about how to enter or to submit your application, please click here

If you would like to keep up to date about the York Design Awards, please sign up to our e-newsletter

< Back to News

Three new judges appointed to 2020 York Design Awards


York’s property developers, housebuilders, homeowners and architects are being urged to enter buildings developed in the last three years into the 2020 York Design Awards before the newly extended closing date of 31st March.

Three distinguished architects have joined the judging panel, alongside head judge Andy Davey senior partner at Simpson & Brown Architects, based in Edinburgh, which was behind the comprehensive redevelopment of York Art Gallery which was awarded a York Design Award in 2016.

The three new judges for this year’s awards, which are free to enter, are sustainability architect Professor Brian Edwards from the University of Edinburgh, former conservation architect for City of York Council Janine Riley and Nicky Watson, a Director of award-winning JDDK Architects in Newcastle.

With eight categories to choose from, the York Design Awards encourage and reward the highest standards of restoration and refurbishment of existing buildings and the best design in new buildings and public spaces in York.

Previous winners include York Theatre Royal, the Hiscox Building, Derwenthorpe Phase 2, Rowntree Park Skate Park, St. Everilda’s Church extension and the restoration of the Old Probate Office as well as a number of private homes.

Ann Reid, Chair of the York Design Awards committee says: “We’ve received some excellent applications so far, and if they are anything to go by, then judging the awards certainly won’t be an easy task and the judges could well be deliberating for some time. We’d urge as many people as possible to submit their buildings for independent scrutiny and don’t miss this chance to be named the best of the best this city has to offer in terms of architecture and design.”

Full details on the categories and how to enter the prestigious awards is available here. Winners will be announced and presented with their awards at the presentation evening which takes place on Monday 15 June at the Tempest Anderson Hall, Yorkshire Museum, Museum Gardens.

Find out more about the York Design Award judges here.

Latest from Twitter