The 2023 York Design Awards ceremony took place on 3rd July 2023 and you can see all the winners here.

The Awards are free to enter due to the support of our kind sponsors.  The awards celebrate properties in a wide range of categories including single and multiple dwelling residential developments, community and commercial buildings, and open space/public realm/landscape.

The 2024 awards programme will launch in February 2024.

If you would like to keep up to date about the York Design Awards, please sign up to our e-newsletter

< Back to News

14 Lendal

Client/Developer: York Conservation Trust
Architect/Designer: York Conservation Trust
Builder: York Conservation Trust


The refurbishment of a Grade II* property, built c.1714 as a townhouse, adapted to commercial use in the 19th century and used most recently as workshops and retail shop for the sale of leather goods. The upper floors had been largely unused and shut away for over half a century, akin to a time capsule. The building has been extensively repaired and refurbished to very high conservation standards and is now being fitted out as a quirky bar, retail and restaurant business.

Latest from Twitter