The 2023 York Design Awards ceremony took place on 3rd July 2023 and you can see all the winners here.

The Awards are free to enter due to the support of our kind sponsors.  The awards celebrate properties in a wide range of categories including single and multiple dwelling residential developments, community and commercial buildings, and open space/public realm/landscape.

The 2024 awards programme will launch in February 2024.

If you would like to keep up to date about the York Design Awards, please sign up to our e-newsletter

< Back to News

41, Windmill Rise

A bold project that provides contrast and variety while fitting in to an otherwise quite uniform area. A large volume of living space under a steep roof is approached by a bridge over a sunken garden. Unusually, the bedrooms are on a lower floor but privacy is managed by a skilful use of the falling levels on the site. The design makes careful use of modern materials and large areas of glass to create an unusual but striking house.

Architect: Nick Midgley Design
Developer: Mr Michael Hammill, Yorbuild
Presented by: The Sheriff of York, Mr. Alan Deller, RIBA

Latest from Twitter