The winners of the 2022 York Design Awards were announced in July and you can see them here (link to 2022 Winners « York Design Awards)


The 2023 awards will launch on 28th February, with the awards ceremony taking place on 3rd July 2023.
Awards application now available here
The Awards cover a wide range of categories including large and small residential developments, community and commercial buildings, open space/public realm/landscape, and mixed-use schemes, and are open to all projects completed in the last five years.


If you would like to keep up to date about the York Design Awards, please sign up to our e-newsletter


< Back to News

88a South Bank Avenue. York YO 23 1DP

Owner/Occupier/Developer: Ben Shaw
Architect: Dale Rhodes

Conversion and refurbishment of disused Methodist chapel to domestic use including self contained apartment and workshop

This highly inventive conversion provides the owner-occupier with a wonderful open living space, a generous sleeping gallery, two separate bedrooms and a spacious workshop where the owner pursues his interests as a designer and maker.

The house is full of inventive and delightful detail – a semi-circular galley kitchen, an automated wine cellar, a flying staircase and a miniature rooftop garden.  The artwork, furnishing and decoration are mildly rebellious and whacky.

The design is the product of collaboration, clearly extremely successful, between the owner and his architect.  They clearly share a sense of humour as well as contributing their own particular skills and foibles.  The style is contemporary but completely free of the aggressive tone of some minimalist design.

Latest from Twitter