The 2023 York Design Awards ceremony took place on 3rd July 2023 and you can see all the winners here.

The Awards are free to enter due to the support of our kind sponsors.  The awards celebrate properties in a wide range of categories including single and multiple dwelling residential developments, community and commercial buildings, and open space/public realm/landscape.

The 2024 awards programme will launch in February 2024.

If you would like to keep up to date about the York Design Awards, please sign up to our e-newsletter

< Back to News

Anne Lister & David Kato Student Accommodation, UoY

Client/Developer: University of York
Architect/Designer: Sheppard Robson
Builder: GRAHAM Group

Residential (Multiple Dwellings)

This project stood out amongst a strong category. It creates a sophisticated and caring residential environment based on the best traditions of design innovation within higher education. The judges were especially impressed by the skilful interpretation of the simple monolithic massing forms to create a vibrant and welcoming example of good design.

Public Realm/Open Space

This award recognises a project that the judges felt incorporated an exemplary standard of landscape design, which will promote biodiversity, create new habitats and mature into highly attractive external spaces.

Latest from Twitter