Entries for the 2024 York Design awards are now open!

 The Awards are free to enter due to the support of our kind sponsors.  The awards celebrate a wide range of properties including single and multiple dwelling residential developments, community and commercial buildings, and open space/public realm/landscape.

To learn more about how to enter or to submit your application, please click here

If you would like to keep up to date about the York Design Awards, please sign up to our e-newsletter

< Back to News

De Grey Rooms

A rennovation of an important nineteenth century interior.  By removing late additions, restoring original features, bringing the principal rooms close to their original form and finding new uses for ancillary rooms these interiors have been given a new lease of life. [A building that has made an enormous civic contribution over many years. Sadly the building rather lost its way at the start of this century, lacking a role it became very tired and in need of major repair. The work of the York Conservation Trust in restoring the building sensitively and then finding a really key use for today, is to be applauded.]

Architect: Richard Parkin
Client/Developer: York Conservation Trust
Chosen and Presented by: Mr. Bill Woolley, Director of City Strategy, City of York Council, 2005-2012

Latest from Twitter