Winners of the 2022 York Design Awards will be announced at an awards ceremony on Monday 4th July. Please save the date and join our mailing list to receive an invitation to this free event.


There will be a week-long exhibition of the award entries at York Explore library from 11 to 18 June. Visit the free exhibition and cast your vote for The Press People’s Choice Award and the Young People’s Award (under 18s only).


The Awards cover a wide range of categories including large and small residential development, commercial and public buildings, conservation and restoration projects and open spaces and are open to all projects completed in the last five years.
You can also join the York Design Awards Walking Trails on Friday 17 June, 6pm to 8pm and Saturday 18 June, 10am to 12 noon, as part of the York Festival of Ideas. Visit York Design Award-winning buildings from the first 13 years of the scheme. The free walking trails around the city centre reveal some stunning hidden gems developed and built by those aspiring to the highest quality of design. Tickets are available from 29th April at York Festival of Ideas, York Festival of Ideas.


If you would like to keep up to date about the York Design Awards, please sign up to our e-newsletter


< Back to News

Derwenthorpe Landscaping

Owner:  Joseph Rowntree Housing Trust
Developer:  David Wilson Homes
Landscape Architect

Landscaping of the various open spaces within the development and the belt of parkland around it – including various types of natural landscape ponds, playground, etc.

Integral part of the development whose buildings won an award in the new-residential category last year.   It providing landscaped context for the housing development; recreation spaces for the inhabitants.  It includes a variety of ecologies.  As well as the familiar cut-grass parkland and carefully arranged trees of many varieties, there are areas of meadow flowers and shrubs, a network of waterways and a pond that serve as part of a sustainable Urban drainage and flood prevention system.  The landscape serves not only as a recreational green belt to the development but also serves to minimise the impact of the development on the environment.

In this regard as well as others, the estate is a model for residential developments for the future.  It is gratifying to see many of the Prince of Wales initiatives on planning and urbanism finally bearing fruit.

Latest from Twitter