Winners of the 2022 York Design Awards will be announced at an awards ceremony on Monday 4th July. Please save the date and join our mailing list to receive an invitation to this free event.


There will be a week-long exhibition of the award entries at York Explore library from 11 to 18 June. Visit the free exhibition and cast your vote for The Press People’s Choice Award and the Young People’s Award (under 18s only).


The Awards cover a wide range of categories including large and small residential development, commercial and public buildings, conservation and restoration projects and open spaces and are open to all projects completed in the last five years.
You can also join the York Design Awards Walking Trails on Friday 17 June, 6pm to 8pm and Saturday 18 June, 10am to 12 noon, as part of the York Festival of Ideas. Visit York Design Award-winning buildings from the first 13 years of the scheme. The free walking trails around the city centre reveal some stunning hidden gems developed and built by those aspiring to the highest quality of design. Tickets are available from 29th April at York Festival of Ideas, York Festival of Ideas.


If you would like to keep up to date about the York Design Awards, please sign up to our e-newsletter


< Back to News

Derwenthorpe Phase 2

Developer: Joseph Rowntree Housing Trust
Architect: Adam Cornish, Studio Partington, London
Structural Engineer: Alan Wood and Partners
Services Engineer: Arup
Landscape Architect: Fira
Project Manager: MDA
Post completion testing: Leeds Beckett
Builder: David Wilson Homes

This is a further instalment of the notably successful new residential neighbourhood promoted by the Rowntree Housing Trust. The overall plan draws on the theories of the New Urbanism that evolved in the 1980’s that sought to combine the texture of traditional towns with the requirements of contemporary life – in particular car usage.   The result involves the close integration of a broad range of house types, large and small, private and rented – set out in a way that provides parking without it dominating the street or threatening pedestrians.  The buildings use traditional material in a contemporary manner.  The detailing is of the highest quality and the interiors are both practical and delightful.   And these standards are maintained throughout the development.

There was considerable opposition to the project in the early days.  But now that the buildings are finished and occupied, the new neighbourhood is generally recognized as a very fine example of what can be achieved by a combination of thoughtful planning and meticulous design

Latest from Twitter