The winners of the 2022 York Design Awards were announced in July and you can see them here (link to 2022 Winners « York Design Awards)


The 2023 awards will launch on 28th February, with the awards ceremony taking place on 3rd July 2023.
The Awards cover a wide range of categories including large and small residential developments, community and commercial buildings, open space/public realm/landscape, and mixed-use schemes, and are open to all projects completed in the last five years.


If you would like to keep up to date about the York Design Awards, please sign up to our e-newsletter


< Back to News

Harriet Centre

Client: York Cemetery
Builder: JMark Construction
Architect: PPIY 

York Cemetery provides for the community, conservation, education, and recreation and depends on volunteers to maintain it.

The Harriet Centre is a new building for use by volunteers, staff, and the community, providing new volunteers’ facilities and a groundskeeper’s workshop.

The classical Gatehouse with pitched roof and pediments was a touchstone for the new building, which echoes and draws on this classical language in its design.

The feature geometric roof to the Harriet Room is light and supported aloft on steel piloti (small pillars) that allow full glazing on two sides. The feature roof uses birch faced plywood and is a statement.

Latest from Twitter