The winners of the 2022 York Design Awards were announced in July and you can see them here (link to 2022 Winners « York Design Awards)


The 2023 awards will launch on 28th February, with the awards ceremony taking place on 3rd July 2023.
Awards application now available here
The Awards cover a wide range of categories including large and small residential developments, community and commercial buildings, open space/public realm/landscape, and mixed-use schemes, and are open to all projects completed in the last five years.


If you would like to keep up to date about the York Design Awards, please sign up to our e-newsletter


< Back to News

Heslington Hall Ceiling

The restoration of an important 16th century pendant ceiling. Threatened with collapse, this powerful and unique plaster ceiling has been rescued and seamlessly restored to its original condition. [The invisibility, technical ingenuity and scholarship of this work combine to make it an example of restoration work of the highest order.  An award is a proper means of recognising the efforts of those whose work is defined as successful by not being evident.]

Architect: Holland Brown
Client/Developer: University of York
Presented by: Professor Sir Ron Cooke, Chairman, York Civic Trust

Latest from Twitter