Entries for the 2024 York Design awards are now open!

 The Awards are free to enter due to the support of our kind sponsors.  The awards celebrate a wide range of properties including single and multiple dwelling residential developments, community and commercial buildings, and open space/public realm/landscape.

To learn more about how to enter or to submit your application, please click here

If you would like to keep up to date about the York Design Awards, please sign up to our e-newsletter

< Back to News

Hotel Indigo York, Walmgate

Architect/ Designer: CSP Architects/ Matthews Mee
Client/Developer: Splendid Hospitality
Builder: R N Wooler
Presented by: Mr. Stuart Martel, Assistant Editor, The Press, York

The Hotel Indigo occupies one of several entirely new buildings on Walmgate, which together are a remarkably successful contemporary contribution to the otherwise traditional streetscape. The composition and detailing respond well to the character, rhythm and texture of the street as a whole – without aping the historic features or use of materials. The interior has been fitted out by the hotel owners in a richly eclectic mix of contemporary styles with many references to York and its traditions, giving the interiors of the common spaces and of each bedroom a very individual charm.

Latest from Twitter