The 2023 York Design Awards ceremony took place on 3rd July 2023 and you can see all the winners here.

The Awards are free to enter due to the support of our kind sponsors.  The awards celebrate properties in a wide range of categories including single and multiple dwelling residential developments, community and commercial buildings, and open space/public realm/landscape.

The 2024 awards programme will launch in February 2024.

If you would like to keep up to date about the York Design Awards, please sign up to our e-newsletter

< Back to News

Library Square

The relationship between public space and buildings is of great importance and often neglected. The re-design of Library Square has managed to combine traffic and pedestrian use, resurfacing and new street furniture to the great benefit of this part of York and the Library building. [The simplicity of the design, the sensitivity of the detailing and the quality of the design of the new elements provide a major improvement to a public area and a public building seamlessly and quietly.  This is an exemplary scheme.]

Architect: City of York Council
Client/Developer: City of York Council
Presented by: Mrs. Karen Hyman, The Lady Mayoress

Latest from Twitter