The winners of the 2022 York Design Awards were announced in July and you can see them here (link to 2022 Winners « York Design Awards)


The 2023 awards will launch on 28th February, with the awards ceremony taking place on 3rd July 2023.
Awards application now available here
The Awards cover a wide range of categories including large and small residential developments, community and commercial buildings, open space/public realm/landscape, and mixed-use schemes, and are open to all projects completed in the last five years.


If you would like to keep up to date about the York Design Awards, please sign up to our e-newsletter


< Back to News

York Art Gallery

Architect/ Designer: Ushida Findlay and Simpson & Brown
Client/Developer: York Museums Trust
Builder: Simpsons York
Presented by: Sally Walker, Master, York Guild of Building

The comprehensive development to the York Art Gallery started as a design competition won in 2011 by Ushida-Findlay. Kathryn Findlay joined forces Simpson Brown to implement the project, but she sadly died before the project was completed. The Gallery is now larger by nearly 3000 sq. m. – provided by the opening up of hidden volumes in the roof, the insertion of a new mezzanine, and the construction of a new first floor gallery on the S side. All this has been done in a way which combines the old and new in an apparently seamless whole – easy to understand as a first-time visitor, elegant in all its details, preserving the best of the Victorian craftsmanship, yet including a number of wildly contemporary gestures such as the blue-glazed tile wall and the wonderful elevated terrace at the back – features that link the museum to the adjacent Abbey Gardens.

Latest from Twitter