Winners of the 2022 York Design Awards will be announced at an awards ceremony on Monday 4th July. Please save the date and join our mailing list to receive an invitation to this free event.


There will be a week-long exhibition of the award entries at York Explore library from 11 to 18 June. Visit the free exhibition and cast your vote for The Press People’s Choice Award and the Young People’s Award (under 18s only).


The Awards cover a wide range of categories including large and small residential development, commercial and public buildings, conservation and restoration projects and open spaces and are open to all projects completed in the last five years.
You can also join the York Design Awards Walking Trails on Friday 17 June, 6pm to 8pm and Saturday 18 June, 10am to 12 noon, as part of the York Festival of Ideas. Visit York Design Award-winning buildings from the first 13 years of the scheme. The free walking trails around the city centre reveal some stunning hidden gems developed and built by those aspiring to the highest quality of design. Tickets are available from 29th April at York Festival of Ideas, York Festival of Ideas.


If you would like to keep up to date about the York Design Awards, please sign up to our e-newsletter


< Back to News

Temple Avenue

Two exemplary houses of a simple but sophisticated contemporary design that combine architectural refinement with an excellent use of internal space. The designs are underpinned by energy-saving objectives and are based on simple rectangular plans, steep-pitched roofs and brick walls. The architect has shown how it is possible for good design to lift everyday elements into works of architectural quality.

Architect: Richard Partington Architects, London
Developer: Joseph Rowntree Housing Trust
Presented by: Mr. Terry Suthers MBE, Chairman, York Archaeological Trust

Latest from Twitter