Entries for the 2024 York Design awards are now open!

 The Awards are free to enter due to the support of our kind sponsors.  The awards celebrate a wide range of properties including single and multiple dwelling residential developments, community and commercial buildings, and open space/public realm/landscape.

To learn more about how to enter or to submit your application, please click here

If you would like to keep up to date about the York Design Awards, please sign up to our e-newsletter

< Back to News

The Pikeing Well

The restoration of an important but neglected historical monument.  The minimum of intervention and great deal of care have been put into rescuing this early work of the important architect, John Carr of York. Attention to detail combined with scholarship have shown that small repairs can have a significant impact on historic structures. [The community involvement and the level of scholarship dedicated to such a small but significant project is particularly impressive.  The research and debate given to the insertion of six new stones show how care and consideration can achieve worthwhile ends with few resources.]

Architect: Wiles and Maguire
client/Developer: CYC/ Friends of New Walk
Presented by: Charlotte Harrison, Co-Chair, York Architectural Association

Latest from Twitter