Entries for the 2024 York Design awards are now open!

 The Awards are free to enter due to the support of our kind sponsors.  The awards celebrate a wide range of properties including single and multiple dwelling residential developments, community and commercial buildings, and open space/public realm/landscape.

To learn more about how to enter or to submit your application, please click here

If you would like to keep up to date about the York Design Awards, please sign up to our e-newsletter

< Back to News

The White House, Clifton

The combination of sensitive architecture fully coordinated with high-quality landscape architecture mark out this full width extension to a listed building. While flat-roofed extensions are often unfortunate additions to historic structures, this design shows how attention to detail and an understanding of the setting can be a positive addition. [The careful and contextual detailing, the consideration of views of the original house, the quality and appropriateness of the landscape architecture and, in particular, the way they all come together as a unified design make this an exceptional example of its kind.]

Architect: Ferrey & Mennim
Developer: Owner
Presented by: Janet Barnes, Chief Executive, Yorkshire Museums Trust

Latest from Twitter