The winners of the 2022 York Design Awards were announced in July and you can see them here (link to 2022 Winners « York Design Awards)


The 2023 awards will launch on 28th February, with the awards ceremony taking place on 3rd July 2023.
Awards application now available here
The Awards cover a wide range of categories including large and small residential developments, community and commercial buildings, open space/public realm/landscape, and mixed-use schemes, and are open to all projects completed in the last five years.


If you would like to keep up to date about the York Design Awards, please sign up to our e-newsletter


< Back to News

University of York Library Extension and Archives

Architect: Leach Rhodes Walker, Manchester
Client: University of York

Judges Comments: not all the new buildings on the campus are inspirational and some fail to respond to the setting created in the 1960s. However, the university library extension is a striking, landmark addition, which connects well to the existing 60s building and provides much needed space. The archives facility houses the precious material of the Borthwick Institute, formerly at St Anthony’s Hall in the city centre. Designed to provide secure storage for centuries to come, it also offers excellent amenities for researchers.

Latest from Twitter