Entries for the 2024 York Design awards are now open!

 The Awards are free to enter due to the support of our kind sponsors.  The awards celebrate a wide range of properties including single and multiple dwelling residential developments, community and commercial buildings, and open space/public realm/landscape.

To learn more about how to enter or to submit your application, please click here

If you would like to keep up to date about the York Design Awards, please sign up to our e-newsletter

< Back to News

24 Clifton School and Nursery

Developer/Client: St Peters School, Clifton
Architect: Harmer Fitz

Extension and refurbishment of both buildings and landscape to improve the reception area, the library and the outside play areas.
These alterations and refurbishment of the original 1980’s building, involve a small amount of new building to reform the entrance, some remodelling of the interior and the reordering of the external approach and play areas.   The design shows considerate and witty invention at every level, from the laying out of the new building and landscape down to the design of the reception desk, the graphics in the new library and even the choice of the story-telling chair.

All the new features large and small are integrated into the whole in a way that is practical, original and delightful – and clearly gives great satisfaction to the users and client.

Latest from Twitter