The winners of the 2022 York Design Awards were announced in July and you can see them here (link to 2022 Winners « York Design Awards)


The 2023 awards will launch on 28th February, with the awards ceremony taking place on 3rd July 2023.
Awards application now available here
The Awards cover a wide range of categories including large and small residential developments, community and commercial buildings, open space/public realm/landscape, and mixed-use schemes, and are open to all projects completed in the last five years.


If you would like to keep up to date about the York Design Awards, please sign up to our e-newsletter


< Back to News

York Racecourse Phase 1

Architect/ Designer: Brendan Phelan
Client/Developer: York Racecourse
Builder: Lindum York

This is one of the largest and certainly the most complex of the submitted projects. It is a combination of buildings and functional open spaces – purpose-designed to accommodate several of the most critical of the off-course activities of a race meeting – the jockeys’ changing and weighing-in rooms, the horses’ saddling boxes, specialised vet facilities, the pre-parade ring, the prize giving pavilion, TV camera position and the VIP lounge and restaurant.   The overall layout, the buildings and the open spaces between them are elegant, practical and festive. The buildings are beautifully detailed in a contemporary vocabulary that is neither slavishly traditional not aggressively modern. The entire project was constructed between the end of last season’s racing and the beginning of this one – a period of less than six months – a remarkable achievement.

Latest from Twitter