Entries for the 2024 York Design awards are now open!

 The Awards are free to enter due to the support of our kind sponsors.  The awards celebrate a wide range of properties including single and multiple dwelling residential developments, community and commercial buildings, and open space/public realm/landscape.

To learn more about how to enter or to submit your application, please click here

If you would like to keep up to date about the York Design Awards, please sign up to our e-newsletter

< Back to News

York Design Awards appoints new Chairman

Ann Reid MBE Large news

York Design Awards, which promotes and rewards excellence in building design and conservation, has appointed Ann Reid MBE as its new Chairman.

A city councillor for 32 years, and former Lord Mayor of York (1993-94), Ann takes over from Rebecca Thompson, managing director of Thompson Heritage Consultancy.

Mrs Reid said: “For the past four years I was Chair of the Planning Committee and have always respected the York Design Awards. They are judged by independent property experts and celebrate and encourage great architecture, design and restoration in this beautiful city. I support the York Design Awards’ aims to raise standards and celebrate buildings and public spaces that inspire and delight, and I’m truly honoured to become Chairman.”

York Design Awards are free to enter, with eight categories for residential and commercial building owners, property developers and architects to choose from. The awards are judged by independent architects who visit every award entry before choosing their winners.  There is also an opportunity for local people to have their say with The Press People’s Choice Award and The Young People’s Award, as well as The Lord Mayor of York also choosing a winner.

Previous winners of the York Design Awards include The Bothy at Dean’s Garden Centre, York Theatre Royal, Jake’s Treehouse at Robert Wilkinson Primary Academy, The Red Tower and Rowntree Park Skate Park as well as a number of privately-owned residences.

Mrs Reid heads a committee of 14 volunteers with property, planning and other relevant expertise, which organises the annual awards ceremony and other events throughout the year, as well as engage with local schools and colleges with its educational outreach programme.

She added: “The 2020 York Design Awards launch event takes place on 6th February and the closing date for entries will be 20th March. Judging takes place in April. The entries are displayed at York Explore library in May for residents to vote for the People’s Choice Award, and the awards presentation takes place in June.  We’re looking forward to receiving some stunning entries this year.”

The awards are funded and supported by a wide range of sponsors including Hiscox, Arup, CG Building and Restoration, City of York Council, Crombie Wilkinson, Fulprint, George F White, Leeds Environmental Design Associates (LEDA), LNER, O’Neill Associates, Ravage Productions, Shepherd Group, The Grand Hotel, The Partners Group, The Press, United By Design, University of York, York Architectural Association, York Civic Trust, York Conservation Trust, York Explore, and York Guild of Building.


Picture by Duncan Lomax, Ravage Productions

Latest from Twitter