Entries for the 2024 York Design awards are now open!

 The Awards are free to enter due to the support of our kind sponsors.  The awards celebrate a wide range of properties including single and multiple dwelling residential developments, community and commercial buildings, and open space/public realm/landscape.

To learn more about how to enter or to submit your application, please click here

If you would like to keep up to date about the York Design Awards, please sign up to our e-newsletter

< Back to News

York Design Awards appoints new chair

York Design Awards Rebecca Thompson

York Design Awards, which promotes and rewards excellence in building design and conservation, has appointed Rebecca Thompson as its new chair.

Former Lord Mayor of York and Councillor for the City of York Janet Hopton MBE stepped down as chairman after 12 years at the helm of the awards which she founded in 2006.

Rebecca is managing director of Thompson Heritage Consultancy and is part time ‘Head of Built Environment’ at Castle Howard.  She said: “It’s an honour to take up this new role with York Design Awards, which celebrates and encourages great architecture, design and restoration in this beautiful city, which regularly tops UK cities’ quality of life surveys. Janet has created a magnificent legacy and I fully intend to support her mission in raising standards and helping to create buildings and public spaces that inspire and delight.”

York Design Awards celebrates residential and commercial buildings, with eight categories every year for building owners, property developers and architects to choose from. The awards are judged by independent property experts who visit every award entry before choosing their winners.  There is also an opportunity for local people to have their say with The Press People’s Choice Award, and The Lord Mayor of York also chooses a winner.

Previous winners of the York Design Awards are The York Theatre Royal, Vita Students’ Village, The Red Tower, Rowntree Park Skate Park and the Great East Window at York Minster as well as a number of privately-owned residences.

Rebecca heads a committee of 13 volunteers with property, planning and other relevant expertise, who help to organise the annual awards and other events throughout the year, as well as engage with local schools and colleges with its educational outreach programme. She added: “The 2019 York Design Awards will launch at a special event at the end of January and the closing date for entries will be 31st March. I would encourage everyone to enter and support the awards and help us to continue to make them better every year.”

The awards are funded and supported by a wide range of sponsors including Hiscox, Arup, Bedern Hall Foundation, CG Building and Restoration, City of York Council, Crombie Wilkinson, Fulprint, George F White, Leeds Environmental Design Associates (LEDA), LNER, O’Neill Associates, Ravage Productions, Shepherd Group, The Grand Hotel, The Partners Group, The Press, United by Design, University of York, York Architectural Association, York Civic Trust, York Conservation Trust, York Explore, York Guild of Building, York Science Park and York Theatre Royal.

Latest from Twitter