Entries for the 2024 York Design awards are now open!

 The Awards are free to enter due to the support of our kind sponsors.  The awards celebrate a wide range of properties including single and multiple dwelling residential developments, community and commercial buildings, and open space/public realm/landscape.

To learn more about how to enter or to submit your application, please click here

If you would like to keep up to date about the York Design Awards, please sign up to our e-newsletter

< Back to News

Public vote opens for 2023 York Design Awards

Voting for the People’s Choice Award opens this Saturday 10th June at York Explore Library, as part of the 2023 York Design Awards.

Four leading architects have visited each of the 26 residential, commercial, community and open spaces and have chosen their winners, which will be announced at the awards evening in July at The Guildhall.

Next week (10th to 18th June), all the entries will be displayed at York Explore for members of the public to cast their votes for their favourite buildings in the People’s Choice Award (over 18s) sponsored by the York Press. There is also a Young People’s Award, where under 18s can select their winning entry.

This is the 15th annual York Design Awards, which aim to encourage and promote excellence in design and conservation, striving for the highest standards which will delight present and future generations.

This year’s entries include the York Scarborough Bridge, York Minster Refectory, Independence House flexible office space, Roomzzz Aparthotel, the Anne Lister and David Kato Student Accommodation at the University of York, plus a wide variety of private homes.

Ann Reid, Chair of the York Design Awards committee said: “This year the standard is as high as ever with some stunning residential properties, public buildings and creative commercial developments. We hope that local people will take time out next week to visit the exhibition and cast their votes for the properties that inspire them the most.

The awards programme operates with the generous support of a number of sponsors who have a strong association with the city including Shepherd Group and Portakabin, O’Neill Associates, LEDA, York Architectural Association, York Civic Trust, York Conservation Trust, City of York Council, Partners PR, United By Design, Ravage Productions, Crombie Wilkinson, Fulprint, York Explore, York Press, The University of York, and The Churchill Hotel.

The York Design Award Judges are Andy Davey from Simpson & Brown architects, sustainability architect Professor Brian Edwards from the University of Edinburgh, former conservation architect for City of York Council Janine Riley and Nicky Watson, a Director of award-winning JDDK Architects in Newcastle.

Join the York Design Awards mailing list here to receive an invitation to the awards evening.

Latest from Twitter