Entries for the 2024 York Design awards are now open!

 The Awards are free to enter due to the support of our kind sponsors.  The awards celebrate a wide range of properties including single and multiple dwelling residential developments, community and commercial buildings, and open space/public realm/landscape.

To learn more about how to enter or to submit your application, please click here

If you would like to keep up to date about the York Design Awards, please sign up to our e-newsletter

< Back to News

South Quire buttress, turret, and spirelet, on East Front of York Minster

This combination of craftsmanship, conservation skills and creativity is of a standard that befits an historic building of international significance. The restoration of the heavily decayed fabric of the South Quire buttress goes beyond the accurate replacement of medieval fabric. Expert reconsideration of constructional problems and a constant reassessment of the necessary work are creative activities in their own right. To this is added a freedom of carving for individual masons that has created original, fascinating but entirely appropriate figurative decoration. Underlying this work is a sense of continuity with past and future masons that keeps alive a centuries-old working tradition.

Master Mason: Mr. John David
Superintendent of Works: Mrs. Rebecca Thompson
Presented by: The Rt. Hon. the Lord Mayor of York, Cllr. David Horton.

Latest from Twitter