Entries for the 2024 York Design awards are now open!

 The Awards are free to enter due to the support of our kind sponsors.  The awards celebrate a wide range of properties including single and multiple dwelling residential developments, community and commercial buildings, and open space/public realm/landscape.

To learn more about how to enter or to submit your application, please click here

If you would like to keep up to date about the York Design Awards, please sign up to our e-newsletter

< Back to News

Ashfield House

An important but derelict and neglected house has been restored and converted with scholarship and dedication. A large early-nineteenth-century house threatened with demolition and in an advanced state of decay has been turned into four houses with many original features restored and with new work carried out in the manner of the original. The commitment of the developer to the authenticity of the building has created a high standard of finish, modern accommodation and maintained the historic character of the original.

Architect: Ferguson Sayell, Harrogate
Developer: Hestia (York) Ltd
Presented by: Mr. Bill Woolley, Director City Strategy, City of York Council

Latest from Twitter