The 2023 York Design Awards ceremony took place on 3rd July 2023 and you can see all the winners here.

The Awards are free to enter due to the support of our kind sponsors.  The awards celebrate properties in a wide range of categories including single and multiple dwelling residential developments, community and commercial buildings, and open space/public realm/landscape.

The 2024 awards programme will launch in February 2024.

If you would like to keep up to date about the York Design Awards, please sign up to our e-newsletter

< Back to News

Acomb Library Learning Centre

Architect: City of York Council
Client: City of York Council

Judges Comments: we found this a very refreshing, spirit-raising building. Architecturally, it is a modest performance, quite unassuming though quite contemporary in manner – appropriate to a village setting. Internally, the daylit library space is extremely attractive, a place to linger. Most important, however, is the way in which the idea of a public library is reinvented as a real community resource, with space for meetings and other activities.

Latest from Twitter