Winners of the 2022 York Design Awards will be announced at an awards ceremony on Monday 4th July. Please save the date and join our mailing list to receive an invitation to this free event.


There will be a week-long exhibition of the award entries at York Explore library from 11 to 18 June. Visit the free exhibition and cast your vote for The Press People’s Choice Award and the Young People’s Award (under 18s only).


The Awards cover a wide range of categories including large and small residential development, commercial and public buildings, conservation and restoration projects and open spaces and are open to all projects completed in the last five years.
You can also join the York Design Awards Walking Trails on Friday 17 June, 6pm to 8pm and Saturday 18 June, 10am to 12 noon, as part of the York Festival of Ideas. Visit York Design Award-winning buildings from the first 13 years of the scheme. The free walking trails around the city centre reveal some stunning hidden gems developed and built by those aspiring to the highest quality of design. Tickets are available from 29th April at York Festival of Ideas, York Festival of Ideas.


If you would like to keep up to date about the York Design Awards, please sign up to our e-newsletter


< Back to News

Great East Window, York Minster

Client/Developer: Chapter of York
Architect/Designer: Arrol & Snell
Builder: York Glaziers Trust


The largest expanse of medieval glass in Britain with over 300 panels, constructed between 1405 and 1408, has been dismantled, cleaned, repaired and restored by the York Glaziers Trust on behalf of the Chapter of York. New techniques including UV-resistant glass and a bespoke, ventilated protective glazing system have been combined with extensive research into the original glazing techniques and the interpretation of the window’s complex narrative depicting the Beginning and End of Time. The trust’s expert glass painters have trained the next generation of conservation specialists as an integral part of the project.

Latest from Twitter